Ombudsman for Banking Services’ Board of Directors

The governing structure of the OBS consists of a Board of Directors with eight members, made up as follows:

  • A current or retired judge selected by the Board of Directors and who will also be the independent Chairperson of the Board;
  • Three directors being representatives of the banking sector in South Africa; nominated by the Board EXCO of the Banking Association of South Africa;
  • Four directors, independent of the banking sector in South Africa, selected through a nomination process by the Board of Directors.

The independence of the Office from the banking sector is ensured by the Board having a majority of independent directors.